Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty

Representing the 3rd District of Ohio

Congresswoman Beatty Receives Famed Donna A. James Award

Nov 16, 2020
Press Release

COLUMBUS, OH— U.S. Congresswoman Joyce Beatty (OH-03) was recently named the recipient of the Donna A. James Award for her unparalleled work on behalf of the people, workers, families, and small businesses of Ohio’s Third Congressional District.

“It is an unbelievable honor to be this year’s winner of the Donna A. James Award,” Beatty said. “Like the Award’s namesake, I have dedicated my life to empowering the next generation of leaders, fighting for our entire community, and working to build a brighter future for all Central Ohioans no matter where they live.” She continued, “Thank you, Corporate Connections, for this tremendous recognition, and I promise to continue to use my voice and platform to stand up for each and every constituent of Ohio’s Third Congressional District.”

The Donna A. James Award is presented annually by Corporate Connections, an African-American men's mentoring and networking resource group comprised of associates employed by Nationwide Insurance. Corporate Connections was founded in December 2003 by 14 African-American men and has grown to over 300 members. Corporate Connections members include a wide range of professionals from varying levels, including management and executive leaders. The Award is the highest honor and award given by Corporate Connections.

The Award is named after Donna James, the managing director of Lardon & Associates, a company she helped found. A community pillar and philanthropist, James was previously appointed by former President Barack Obama to chair the National Women’s Business Council. In Central Ohio, James is the co‐founder and former board chair of the Center for Healthy Families, a nonprofit working to transform the lives of pregnant and parenting teens and their children. She is also a board trustee for OhioHealth, as well as North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, and Co‐Executive Director for the African American Leadership Academy.