Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty

Representing the 3rd District of Ohio

Representatives Beatty, Stivers Lead Letter in Support of Ohio School Safety Grant Application

Aug 1, 2018
Press Release

Representatives Beatty, Stivers Lead Letter in Support of Ohio School Safety Grant Application

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congresswoman Joyce Beatty (OH-03) and Congressman Steve Stivers (OH-15) sent a letter along with 11 Members of the Ohio Congressional Delegation to the Director of the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) in support of the State of Ohio’s applications for grant awards under the Student, Teachers, and Officers Preventing (STOP) School Violence Act Program.

Passed in March, the STOP School Violence Act created a grant program to train students, teachers, school officials, and local law enforcement on how to identify and intervene early when signs of violence arise, develop a coordinated reporting system, and implement FBI and Secret Service-based school threat assessment protocols to prevent school shootings before they happen.

“We owe it to every student, in every classroom across America, to do everything in our power to minimize the threat of gun violence,” Beatty said. “Unfortunately, many children and their parents are rightly concerned and are calling on Congress to act.” Beatty continued, “In that spirit, I join my congressional colleagues in urging BJA to provide the needed resources and support to ensure that Ohio schools and those in every community are safer places of learning.”

“As a father, I want to ensure the safety of all of our kids as we send them off to school, and I was proud to be a supporter and cosponsor of the STOP School Violence Act when it was considered in March,” Stivers said. “These grants would provide critical support for students, educators, and local law enforcement in Ohio to keep our kids safe. I am hopeful that the BJA will give full consideration to Ohio’s application, and that Ohio will receive funding to implement important school safety programs.”