Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty

Representing the 3rd District of Ohio

Ohio Democrats Urge Ohio Gov. DeWine to Reject Administration’s Harmful SNAP Proposal

Sep 25, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Representatives Joyce Beatty (OH-03), Marcia Fudge (OH-11), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), and Tim Ryan (OH-13) sent a letter this week calling on Ohio Governor Mike DeWine to reject the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) proposed rule to roll back Broad-Based Categorical Eligibility (BBCE) in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). If implemented, 61,000 Ohio households could lose their SNAP benefits. Following delivery of the letter to DeWine, the quartet of lawmakers issued the joint statement below:

“USDA’s proposed rule revising categorical eligibility in SNAP is just another attempt to circumvent the will of Congress and the American people. These changes would reportedly cause over 100,000 Ohioans to lose access to critical food assistance. It is disheartening to know the Trump Administration is purposeful in its attempt to take food out of the mouths of an estimated 3.1 million people, including 500,000 children and many elderly citizens across the nation. The treatment of our poor and most vulnerable citizens in this way is inhumane and irresponsible. We strongly urge Governor DeWine to stand up for Ohioans, oppose the Administration’s proposed changes, and protect programs like SNAP.”