Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty

Representing the 3rd District of Ohio

Beatty, Stivers Bill on National Designation for Veterans Memorial and Museum Passes Senate

Jun 7, 2018
Press Release

Beatty, Stivers Bill on National Designation for Veterans Memorial and Museum Passes Senate

WASHINGTON, DC—Yesterday, the U.S. Senate passed a bill (H.R. 1900) introduced by Congresswoman Joyce Beatty (OH-03), Congressman Steve Stivers (OH-15) and former Congressman Pat Tiberi to designate the new museum and memorial being built in downtown Columbus as the “National Veterans Memorial and Museum.” The bill was previously passed by the U.S. House of Representatives on November 7, 2017, which means it now heads to the president’s desk to be signed into law.

“I cannot think of a more fitting tribute to our nation’s veterans,” Beatty said. “Once open, the National Veterans Memorial and Museum will serve as a permanent landmark to the selfless service of so many brave Americans and as a memorial to all those who paid the ultimate sacrifice.” Beatty continued, “I applaud my Senate colleagues for passing this important designation and look forward to it becoming law.”

“Ohio is home to the sixth largest veteran population in the United States, is easily accessible, and home to some of the best educational opportunities for veterans. It is clear that Ohio is the ideal place for America’s National Veterans Memorial and Museum,” Stivers said. “I am proud to continue working with my colleagues in the Ohio delegation to support this museum for all of the great contributions it will make for the veterans community across the country, and hope this bill will be signed into law quickly.”

The museum broke ground for construction in December 2015, and is a public-private endeavor with state and local dollars matched by private contributions from several foundations and corporations. The grand opening date for the National Veterans Memorial and Museum is expected summer 2018. 

The entire Ohio Congressional Delegation are cosponsors of H.R. 1900.