Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty

Representing the 3rd District of Ohio

Beatty selected as chair of the Congressional Black Caucus

Dec 14, 2020
News Articles

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty, who was pepper-sprayed by police while protesting the murder of George Floyd on March 31, 2020, has been elected chair of the Congressional Black Caucus. The caucus’ membership now includes a record 57 members.

Beatty, 70, represents Ohio’s 3rd Congressional District, which includes all of Franklin County and most of Columbus. Beatty succeeds Karen Bass, who represented California’s 37th Congressional District.

“Right now, our nation is facing three pandemics that have disproportionately impacted the lives of Black Americans: COVID-19, economic turmoil, and social injustice,” Betty said. “As chair, I will work with the Biden administration, House and Senate leadership, as well as my congressional colleagues, to defeat the pandemic and ensure better days ahead for all of use. Moreover, I will use my voice to address enduring economic and heath disparities, and fight to break the chains of systemic racism that have held the Black community for so long.”

U.S. Rep. Steven Horsford, who represents Nevada’s 4th Congressional District, will serve as 1st Vice-Chair of the Caucus, and Brenda Lawrence will serve as 2nd Vice-Chair of the Caucus. Lawrence represents Michigan’s 14 Congressional District.

Beatty will lead the Caucus in the 117th Congress.

This article was originally published by The Louisiana Weekly on December 14, 2020.